Buffalo Ranch Drumsticks

Buffalo Ranch Drumsticks

After a long, productive workweek–when I have just. had. enough.–I like to treat my taste buds to something salacious, like hot wings. They’re the perfect amount of indecent when slathered in sauce. And then there’s that intoxicatingly tangy scent. It’s love at first whiff.

For this recipe, I veered from traditional chicken wings and used what I had on hand, drumsticks. I also skipped the deep frying.

Buffalo Ranch Drumsticks

Ingredients

8 tablespoons of butter, melted

1/4 cup Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wings Sauce

3 tablespoons vinegar

6 chicken drumsticks (not wing drumettes)

1 (1 ounce) packet of Hidden Valley Original Ranch Salad Dressing & Seasoning Mix

Chopped green onions, for garnish

Celery and carrot sticks

Prepared Hidden Valley Original Ranch Dressing

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Buffalo Hot Sauce

In a bowl big enough to hold drumsticks, whisk butter, hot sauce, and vinegar. Add drumsticks to bowl and turn to coat.

Seasoned Drumsticks

Place drumsticks on a baking sheet lined with foil (for easier clean up). Sprinkle drumsticks with Hidden Valley Original Ranch Salad Dressing & Seasoning Mix. Bake until chicken is browned and an internal temperature of 165 degrees F has been reached, about 40 minutes. At this point, you can go ahead and eat the drumsticks, but I wasn’t quite ready yet.

Coated Drumsticks

I coated the drumsticks with more hot sauce.

Grilled Drumsticks

And then I placed the baked, re-dipped drumsticks on the stove top grill hoping to capture some of that deep-fried, extra crispy goodness. I was kidding myself, though. Still, as far as the healthier version goes, this was an okay route. And it browned them up a bit.

Celery and Carrots

While the drumsticks were baking, I cut up some celery and carrot sticks and placed them in a glass of water to keep them crisp until ready to enjoy.

Buffalo Ranch Drumsticks

Before serving, I basted the drumsticks with more hot sauce and garnished them with sliced green onions. Oh, and I poured myself a cold one.

If you love chicken wings, do you prefer them baked, deep-fried, or grilled?

I think the next time I’m craving Buffalo hot sauce I’m going to make some and use it on cooked chicken tenders and wrap them up in tortillas. What other ways do you use Buffalo hot sauce?

I recently watched The Boxtrolls (cute movie), and Little Boxes was playing in my mind when I was preparing these Buffalo Ranch Drumsticks. It’s a great waltz.

Leave a Reply

