Hoisin Curry Meatballs

Cooked Meatballs

For my first-ever attempt at cooking a somewhat serious (to me) Asian dish, I gotta say, I did damn good. And now I’m left asking myself, “What took you so long?!” I LOVE Asian cuisine but I’ve always been intimidated by the usually long list of ingredients. This recipe has very few ingredients and was so easy to make it’s laughable. There was some mixing going on with the promising concoction of hoisin sauce, honey, and soy sauce. I chopped bok choy like a ninja. And I cooked chow fun noodles for the first time. I made sure to cook a double batch of meatballs, too, because, well, meatballs. This recipe will go into my regular rotation, probably tucked somewhere between a night of cereal for dinner and… a leftover meatball sandwich!

I found this incredible recipe at Dennis The Prescott, and I wish I could shake Dennis’ hand. For my recipe, I increased the measurements for extra servings, and I replaced spaghetti with chow fun noodles (dried wide rice noodles).

If you love Asian cuisine, you will probably love this recipe. Full recipe following photos.

Meatball Ingredients

Add ground beef, bok choy, garlic, curry powder, soy sauce, hoisin sauce, and salt to a large bowl; mix well.

Raw Meatballs

With your hands, make about 20-25 meatballs.

Meatballs Cooking

Cook meatballs in hot oil. Transfer cooked meatballs to a paper-towel lined plate. Discard extra oil from skillet. Return meatballs to skillet.

THERE SHOULD BE A PHOTO HERE! Oops! I clearly have not posted a recipe in a long time. I’ll add photos here the next time I cook this recipe.

Add chicken broth, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, and honey to a bowl; mix well. Pour into skillet with meatballs. Cook for about 5 minutes.

THERE SHOULD BE A PHOTO HERE!

While meatballs are cooking, boil water for chow fun noodles. When there is about 1 minute of cooking time left for noodles, add handfuls of bok choy leafs. Drain noodles. Add into meatball mixture. Toss to coat.

Asian Cuisine

Voila!

Hoisin Curry Meatballs with Bok Choy and Chow Fun Noodles

Ingredients

Meatballs

1 1/2 pounds ground beef

1 1/2 cups finely chopped bok choy, leaves and stems

5 garlic cloves, finely minced

1 1/2 teaspoons curry powder

3 teaspoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons hoisin sauce

Pinch of salt

Sauce and Noodles

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup hoisin sauce

1/2 cup soy sauce

2 tablespoons honey

1 package of chow fun noodles, uncooked

3 handfuls of bok choy

Directions

Add all of the meatball ingredients into a large bowl; mix well. Using your hands, make small meatballs (about the size of a golf ball) and set on a large platter or baking sheet.

Heat 2-3 tablespoons of vegetable oil in a large skillet that’s set over medium to medium high heat. Add meatballs and cook for 8 to 10 minutes, turning every now and then to make sure meatballs are browning all over. (I checked a meatball at 8 minutes to see if it was cooked through inside.) When meatballs are browned, transfer to a paper-towel lined plate. There will be extra oil that has accumulated from the ground beef. Discard all but 2 tablespoons of the oil in the skillet. Make sure to save as much of the cooked bits as possible, as these add rich flavor to the sauce. I also cooked my meatballs in two batches, as the skillet was not big enough for the extra meatballs I rolled. And I did not discard the extra oil from the skillet until I had both batches of meatballs cooked. When all meatballs are cooked add them back into the skillet.

In a bowl, mix together the chicken broth, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, and honey. Add to the skillet with the meatballs. Cook for about 5 minutes over medium heat, spooning sauce over meatballs. Sauce will bubble and thicken up a bit.

While meatballs are cooking, boil water in a pot for the chow fun noodles. Once the water is boiling, add the chow fun noodles to the pot. Cook according to package directions. When there is only one minute of cooking time left for the noodles, add the bok choy to the pot. Drain noodles and bok choy.

Add drained noodles and bok choy to the skillet with the meatballs. Toss to coat before serving. I also added slivers of serrano pepper and spritzed with lime juice. And next time I’ll add in some chopped cilantro.

While preparing this oh-so-delicious dish, I delighted in some traditional Chinese music. This dish was one of my all-time favorite cooking moments.

Leave a Reply

