Homemade Broccoli Soup

Bowl_of_Soup[1]

Now that the weather in Phoenix, AZ has finally cooled off (the high today—December 9, 2012—will be 72 degrees F and the low will be 45 degrees F) I have been inspired to cook comfort food. It’s not near as cold as I would like it to be but I had to put on a sweatshirt last night and that’s good enough for me to cook something cozy and rich in flavor.

I decided on broccoli soup. Broccoli soup is filling enough to savor on its own and is the perfect complement to an ooey gooey grilled cheese sandwich. Today I enjoyed my broccoli soup on its own, but tomorrow I am planning on lovin’ spoonfuls of leftover soup with a sandwich for lunch.

What I love about homemade broccoli soup is that it is so unbelievably easy to make. The first time I made it and tasted the flavors of the fresh ingredients I knew right then and there that I would never again eat broccoli soup from a can. If you ever decide to make homemade soup, you’ll probably take on my theory that canned soup is for emergency situations… or for the birds.

I followed this Food Network Broccoli Soup recipe from The Neelys. <~ How cute are they!?

2012-12-09_11-45-16_695[1]

2012-12-09_12-04-36_625[1]

Melt 4 tablespoons butter (room temperature) in a heavy Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add 1 ½ pounds fresh broccoli (chopped), 1 large onion (chopped), and 1 carrot (chopped). Saute ingredients for about 6 minutes or until onion is translucent.

2012-12-09_12-19-43_638[1]

Add 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour. Cook and stir ingredients for about 1 minute or until flour reaches a blonde color.

2012-12-09_12-22-15_489[1]

Add 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth; bring to a boil and then reduce temperature. Simmer ingredients, uncovered, for about 15 minutes or until broccoli is tender.

Mix in ½ cup heavy cream and then puree. Salt and pepper soup, to taste. I toasted slices from a petite jalapeno-cheddar loaf to serve with my soup. Talk about “Mmm, mmm good!”

Broccoli_Soup[1]

My favorite song of choice for cooking today is this awesome tune by Loretta Lynn and Jack White – “Portland, Oregon” What a great duo!

Leave a Reply

