You Little Devil: The Egg

Deviled Eggs

I know. I know. Eggs may not seem like the most exciting thing to read about, especially with the recent egg recall, but I feel they deserve some respect. If you really think about it you may agree with me that eggs are wondrous.

Besides the age-old question of “What came first, the chicken or the egg?” the egg has been held in high regard for many centuries. It has been seen, by many, as a symbol of fertility and new life. Eggs are props for a variety of traditional games, from Germany’s Egg Dance to England’s Egg Tapping. And there is the famous and opulent Fabergé egg—many actually—that were made by the House of Fabergé.

In the culinary sense, the versatile egg is a must have ingredient in a multitude of dishes. Eggs take the spotlight in classic dishes like croque madame, eggs Benedict, egg in the basket, and the Scotch egg. In dishes like French toast and Caesar salad, and too-many-to-count cakes and cookies, the humble egg is happy to lay low.

When I think about how often I eat eggs I realize that it’s just about every day, in some way, shape or form. Today I was craving deviled eggs. They’re easy to make and tasty and completely addictive, thus, “You Little Devil.” The recipe is below, but first, I have to share one of my favorite egg rituals. Whenever I cook with eggs I cannot help but sing the intro song to Green Eggs and Ham (Dr. Seuss). If you’ve seen the animated television classic you will completely understand why I do this. It’s fun! I tried finding a YouTube video but no luck.

Green Eggs and Ham (intro song)

Ohhhhh, I frequently think every now and then,

of the glorious fruit of the noble hen,

EGGS! EGGS! E double-G, S-eggs.

My knowledge of eggs is tremendously wide,

I’ve eaten them boiled, I’ve eaten them fried,

poached and shirred and deviled and scrambled,

hummeled and shmummeled, cuddled, and frammeled.

I’ve eaten them beaten and swizzled and swuzzled,

frizzled, cadizzled, bamboozled, and fuzzled.

I know every way that an egg can be guzzled,

and thinking of eggs . . .

reminds me of Sam . . .

whose favorite dish . . .

is . . .

green eggs and ham.

Super Simple Deviled Eggs

Ingredients

  •  6 hard-cooked eggs
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • ½ to 1 teaspoon prepared mustard
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • ½ teaspoon sugar
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • Paprika

Preparation

Slice hard-cooked eggs in half, lengthwise, then remove yolks. Place yolks in a bowl then mash with a fork. Add mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar, sugar and salt to bowl with yolks; mash and mix until combined. Spoon yolk mixture into egg white hollows. Sprinkle with paprika. SERVES 2-3

2 thoughts on “You Little Devil: The Egg

Leave a Reply

