Pushover Pizza

12:21pm

I’m starving. I just left my Aunt Patty’s house after a quick visit, and instead of heading to a drive-thru I decided to come home and make a pizza using a tortilla. I found a recipe yesterday that reads incredibly simple. I just turned on my oven to preheat it and I am going to see how long it takes to prepare the pizza from start to finish. Here is my ingredient list: olive oil, red onion, sugar, balsamic vinegar, tortilla, Asiago cheese, ricotta cheese, mushrooms, salt, and black pepper. I’ll be back in two shakes of a lamb’s tail.

Red Onion

12:34pm

Onions are sautéing in the skillet. I could have shaved off a minute or two here but I was distracted by my parchment paper, for lining the baking sheet. I’ve always been amazed that you can put paper in a hot oven.

Assembled Pizza

12:47pm

I just put the assembled pizza in the oven. I wish I had some Italian sausage or pepperoni. I love meat. By the way, the recipe I am following is from Simply Recipes: Ultra-Thin-Crust Pizza with Onions, Mushrooms, and Ricotta. I can always count on Simply Recipes (Elise Bauer) whenever I need to cook a dish that I cannot afford to screw up, based on hunger, funds, time, etc. I’ve screwed up dishes a time or two and I am not a fun person to be around when I have to throw a dish away that I’ve attempted with concerted effort and passion. I once made three lemon meringue pies in a row; I could not get them right. I called my grandmother for advice at least 20 times during the process, and I was crying. I can be dramatic at times but I always have a valid reason when I have a fit. I take cooking seriously. I don’t think I’ve ever prepared a Simply Recipes recipe that I did not ponder in wonderment, ranging from the flavors to the ingredients to the texture. As far as this recipe goes, the only thing I switched out from the ingredient list is the tortilla. Instead of using a flour tortilla I am using a sun-dried tomato basil tortilla. I figured since there is no sauce on the pizza why not?

Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Tortilla

12:57pm

My pizza is out of the oven, just in time: any longer and the edges of the tortilla would have become too baked/burnt for my liking. Click open the photos, for a better look!

Tortilla Pizza

12:59pm

Oh. My. Gawd. Just took my first bite.

1:01pm

I just ate one piece. This pizza is too simple and scrumptious to not make again. If I had had pepperoni or sausage I would have definitely been moaning out loud; next time. I also need to reduce the temperature and time to suit my oven.

That’s it! I’m happy. I avoided the drive-thru and found a new dish to make for a quick weeknight meal. This pizza can be made in less than 30 minutes, and you can use fresh ingredients to suit your taste buds. I know that you can make a frozen pizza within this time frame but I like the idea of using a tortilla: it truly does provide an ultra-thin-crust eating experience. I am a thin crust pizza lover, through and through.

If you try this pizza you’ll understand why I’m calling it ‘pushover pizza.’ It’s an easily accomplished meal that can be assembled and cooked in mere minutes. If you make one let me know what you think.

6 thoughts on “Pushover Pizza

  1. Looks amazing! Never would have thought about using a tortilla as a pizza base. Will try it. Btw…I’ve cried over many a recipe too. My mom always laughs at me because she’s the one I end up calling when my pancakes are on the ceiling. I think I’m too much of a perfectionist to ever really enjoy cooking. Trying to practice though. Thanks for the recipe and tips.

    1. Thanks, Jamie! I was very impressed with the taste and texture of this tortilla pizza. I’ll definitely experiment with ingredients. Thank goodness for moms and grandmas whenever a cooking disaster strikes, right? Sadly, my grandma passed away three years ago, so now I have to wing it. If I’m ever stumped I think, “What would grandma do?”

      Definitely keep practicing your cooking. It helps to put on some fun music, too, while you’re in the kitchen. 🙂

      1. Thanks for the encouragement. Good music does help! I’m sorry to hear about your grandma, but I’m glad she can still be an inspiration. Grandmas are wonderful that way…

  2. Mmmm, once again I’m hungry! This looks like a meal I think I will try! Though I agree with you Brigette, definitely have to have the meat!!

    I remember once I made an old fashioned apple pie from scratch once. Yup, crust and all, none of that pre-made crust stuff ;)! I was bored one afternoon and saw a pastry book on the shelf …so thought, what the heck? So I rolled up my sleeves and went for it! It turned out pretty good too! Ok…maybe it didn’t look exactly like the pastry book picture, but I’m sure it tasted exactly the same!! And you know, I think that may have been enough to make my cry 😉

    Thanks for the recipe Brigette, I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    1. If you can make an old fashioned apple pie, from scratch, you can make this recipe. The Asiago and ricotta cheeses were new for me, as far as pizza goes, but I loved the flavors. Very gourmet-ish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

